Possession of Controlled Substances

Some of the most commonly charged crimes in Florida involving Possession of Controlled Substances Include:

  • Possession Cannabis (Marijuana) Less than 20g: is defined by Fla. Stat as a First Degree Misdemeanor and is punishable by a maximum penalty of (1) year of probation; 364 Days County Jail; and up to a $1,000.00 fine.

    • Pursuant to Fla. Stat. 322.055 any person who is convicted of Possession of Cannabis shall have their Driver's License revoked for a period of (1) year by the Florida DHSMV.

  • Possession Cannabis 20g or more: is classified by Fla. Stat. as a Third Degree Felony punishable by a maximum penalty of (5) years of probation; (5) years in Florida State Prison; and up to a 5,000.00 fine.

    • Pursuant to Fla. Stat. 322.055 any person who is convicted of Possession of Cannabis shall have their Driver's License revoked for a period of (1) year by the Florida DHSMV.

  • Possession Cocaine: is defined by Fla. Stat. as a Third Degree Felony punishable by a maximum penalty of (5) years of Probation; up to a $5,000.00; and (5) years Florida State Prison.

    • Pursuant to Fla. Stat. 322.055 any person who is convicted of Possession of Cocaine shall have their Driver's License revoked for a period of (1) year by the Florida DHSMV.

  • Possession Oxycodone Less than 4g: is defined by Fla. Stat. as a Third Degree Felony to possess less than four grams of Oxycodone without a valid prescription. As a Third Degree Felony, the charge is punishable by a maximum penalty of (5) years of Probation; up to a $5,000.00; and (5) years Florida State Prison.

    • Pursuant to Fla. Stat. 322.055 any person who is convicted of Possession of Oxycodone will have their Driver's License revoked for a period of (1) year by the Florida DHSMV.

    • It is important to note that the law allows for the entire pill to be weighed, not just the amount of Oxycodone in the pill, and if the total number of pills possessed weighs more than 10 grams, the charge would be elevated to the much more serious offense of Trafficking and subject to Florida's Minimum-Mandatory Prison Sentence.

  • Possession of Hydrocodone Less than 4g: is defined by Fla. Stat. as a Third Degree Felony to possess less than four grams of Oxycodone without a valid prescription. Hydrocodone is the generic name for brands such as Vicodin, Lortab and others. As a Third Degree Felony, the charge is punishable by a maximum penalty of (5) years of Probation; up to a $5,000.00; and (5) years Florida State Prison.

    • Pursuant to Fla. Stat. 322.055 any person who is convicted of Possession of Cocaine shall have their Driver's License revoked for a period of (1) year by the Florida DHSMV.

    • It is important to note that the law allows for the entire pill to be weighed, not just the amount of Hydrocodone in the pill, and if the total number of pills possessed weighs more than 10 grams, the charge would be elevated to the much more serious offense of Trafficking and subject to Florida's Minimum-Mandatory Prison Sentence.

  • Possession of MDMA (Ecstasy, Molly) Less than 10g: stands for 3,4Methylenedioxyamphetamine and is defined as a Third Degree Felony punishable by a maximum penalty of (5) years of Probation; up to a $5,000.00; and (5) years Florida State Prison.

    • Pursuant to Fla. Stat. 322.055 any person who is convicted of Possession of MDMA will have their Driver's License revoked for a period of (1) year by the Florida DHSMV.

    • It is important to note that the law allows for the entire pill to be weighed, not just the amount of MDMA in the pill, and if the total number of pills possessed weighs more than 10 grams, the charge would be elevated to the much more serious offense of Trafficking and subject to Florida's Minimum-Mandatory Prison Sentence.

  • Possession of Alprazolam (Xanax): defined by Fla. Stat. as a Third Degree Felony punishable by a maximum penalty of (5) years of Probation; up to a $5,000.00; and (5) years Florida State Prison.

    • Pursuant to Fla. Stat. 322.055 any person who is convicted of Possession of Alprazolam will have their Driver's License revoked for a period of (1) year by the Florida DHSMV.

  • Possession of Synthetic Drugs Less than 3g: is defined as a First Degree Misdemeanor and is punishable by a maximum penalty of (1) year of probation; 364 Days County Jail; and up to a $1,000.00 fine.

  • Possession of Synthetic Drugs more than 3g: is defined by Fla. Stat. as a Third Degree Felony punishable by a maximum penalty of (5) years of Probation; up to a $5,000.00; and (5) years Florida State Prison.

    • Pursuant to Fla. Stat. 322.055 any person who is convicted of Possession of Synthetic Drugs will have their Driver's License revoked for a period of (1) year by the Florida DHSMV.

  • Possession of Methamphetamine 14g or less: is defined as a Third Degree Felony punishable by a maximum penalty of (5) years of Probation; up to a $5,000.00; and (5) years Florida State Prison.

    • Pursuant to Fla. Stat. 322.055 any person who is convicted of Possession of Methamphetamine shall have their Driver's License revoked for a period of (1) year by the Florida DHSMV.